The pink granite lighthouse stands in the middle of the chaotic rock formations formed by the erosion of cooled magma then shaped by the rain, salty sea spray and wind. Its name, "phare de Mean Ruz", comes from the Breton "Men Ruz", meaning pink stone. The construction of the lighthouse was the result of a petition in 1856 by the residents of Perros-Guirec and Trégastel. Blown up with dynamite by German troops before their surrender in August 1944, the building has not always looked like it does today. Pink granite was used to rebuild the lighthouse in 1948, replacing the grey granite originally used in 1860. The lighthouse was automated in 1980.
Naturally formed by the confluence of two streams 4,500 years ago, Ploumanac'h harbour is an exceptional location. Used from ancient times as a trading port, it was then home to a village of...
See
This rocky outcrop, which marks the entrance to the natural harbour of Perros-Guirec, long played the role of strategic defensive outpost against enemy attacks. Since then, the area has changed...
See
Probably dating from the third millennium B.C., Prajou-Menhir is the largest of the gallery graves in Trébeurden. It measures 14.5 metres in length and is made up of seven stone slabs. Did you know...
See
Jutting out into the sea, Bihit Point offers a magnificent panoramic view. The grey, jagged rock which forms this headland and the small island to its left, Île Mignonne, is the oldest in Europe. It...
See